Safe Schools Declaration Endorsements

The Safe Schools Declaration, developed through state consultations led by Norway and Argentina in Geneva throughout the first half of 2015, provides states the opportunity to express broad political support for the protection and continuation of education in armed conflict, and is the instrument for states to endorse and commit to implement the Guidelines for Protecting Schools and Universities from Military Use during Armed Conflict. The Declaration was opened for endorsement at the Oslo Conference on Safe Schools convened by the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs on May 29, 2015. A first group of 37 states endorsed it that day and that number has since been growing. States can announce their endorsement at any time by making a public statement and/or sending an endorsement letter (sample letter available here) to the Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs via its embassies or permanent missions or directly at and 

The following States have endorsed the Safe Schools Declaration (as of June 2, 2016):

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Angola
  3. Argentina
  4. Austria
  5. Brazil
  6. Bulgaria
  7. Central African Republic
  8. Chad
  9. Chile
  10. Costa Rica
  11. Cote d’Ivoire
  12. Czech Republic
  13. Ecuador
  14. Finland
  15. Georgia
  16. Greece
  17. Honduras
  18. Iceland
  19. Ireland
  20. Italy
  21. Jamaica
  22. Jordan
  23. Kazakhstan
  24. Kenya
  25. Lebanon
  26. Liberia
  27. Liechtenstein
  28. Luxembourg
  29. Madagascar
  30. Malaysia
  31. Montenegro
  32. Mozambique
  33. Netherlands
  34. New Zealand
  35. Niger
  36. Nigeria
  37. Norway
  38. Palestine
  39. Panama
  40. Paraguay
  41. Poland
  42. Portugal
  43. Qatar
  44. Sierra Leone
  45. Slovenia
  46. Somalia
  47. South Africa
  48. South Sudan
  49. Spain
  50. Sudan
  51. Sweden
  52. Switzerland
  53. Uruguay
  54. Zambia


Click here to read public statements issued by states and international organizations as the Guidelines and the Safe Schools Declaration were being developed.